Papa M – Turn! Turn! Turn!

A sixteen-and-a-half-minute instrumental version of The Byrds’ version of Pete Seeger’s Turn! Turn! Turn! Utterly brilliant.

One of the reasons I love it is that I recall, as a kid, listening to The Byrds’ version on a Walkman (or, rather, a cheap alternative) and thinking how great the backing music was – particularly the drums. And how much better it’d be if they got rid of the singing. So every time I hear this version I can see, quite vividly, me walking along Melbourne Road (in Aspley, Nottingham) thinking about that.

Anyway. This post-rock exercise from 2004 takes that lovely, ringing backing music and runs with it, adding subtle layers as it goes – along with some fantastic guitar solos. In theory, it should be something I’d hate. But it’s so seductive and so well-played that I just drift away listening to it.

I was reminded of this song, by the way, after reading in the excellent Will Oldham on Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy book that David Pajo (Papa M himself) came to study here in Norwich (at the Art College) for a year at around the same time I arrived in the early nineties.

Interesting, huh?

About Paul Saxton

Follow me on Twitter if you like: @paulsaxton
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

