Stereolab – Les Yper Yper Sound

I used to love Stereolab. Early Stereolab, when they were in thrall to the likes of Neu! and did interesting things with the whole repetitive, metronomic, drone thing. I lost interest when they abandoned that for the drippy lounge Europop that made them sound like cousins of the appalling St Etienne: kitsch music for kitsch people. Stereolab always had – and still have – the potential to be so much better than that.

This, from the b-side of the 1996 Cybele’s Reverie single (which also features the marvellous Young Lungs), is basically their Krautrock obsession taken to its logical, and thrilling, conclusion.

About Paul Saxton

Follow me on Twitter if you like: @paulsaxton
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stereolab – Les Yper Yper Sound

  1. MAG LEV says:

    This is rather splendid

  2. Stephen says:

    One night in 1997 I listened to this song on autorepeat at top volume for probably 12 hours. I reshuffled my mind and hit my deadline, and for that I will always be grateful to this ysome, ysome song.

Leave a Reply

